Salters Horners Advanced Physics

The Salters Horners Advanced Physics Course (SHAP) was launched in September 1998.

Together with the Salters Company, the Horners have sponsored the development of Salters Horners A2 and AS Level Physics.

The courses are produced by the Science Education Group at the University of York and aim to stimulate and capture interest in the subject by being application led. Since the syllabus revisions introduced by the government in 2015 the Advanced course was updated to prepare students for an A-Level physics qualification awarded by Edexcel. Prizes are awarded annually to the candidates who have achieved the highest marks in the Salters Horners Advanced Physics examination.

The 2017 prize winners were :

Montgomery Beresford – Latymer Upper School
Joseph McCluskey – Heanor Gate Science College
Alexander Miscampbell -Latymer Upper School
Alexander Reeves – Latymer Upper School
Olivia Wilson – De Lisle College

Prizes were presented to three of the winners at the Salters’ annual prize giving ceremony in Salters Hall. The photograph shows (from left), Mr Joseph Mccluskey , Miss Olivia Wilson, Alison Gill the Master Horner and Mr Alexander Miscampbell.